Daily Prompt: Impossibility

Daily Prompt: Impossibility

by michelle w. on March 18, 2013

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” – the White Queen, Alice in Wonderland.

What are the six impossible things you believe in? (If you can only manage one or two, that’s also okay.)

Thanks for the great ideaZen A.!

Image Credit: http://dornob.com/impossible-wine-glass- 3-casually-clever-tableware-designs/

I was very excited when I saw this prompt questioning the six impossible things that I believe in, because to many people, I believe in a whole lot of impossibilities, although I don’t see it that way. You see, it’s all a matter of perspective. In fact, in answer to a question from the disciples about the possibility of salvation, if even wealth cannot save a person, Jesus responded this way:

He replied,“What is impossible from a human perspective is possible with God.”
~ Luke 18:27 NLT ~

Image Credit: http://www.debmacministries.com/stepstopeacewithgod.htm

1.   Therefore, the first impossibility that I believe in is the salvation of mankind, not by our good deeds, because the truth is that none of us could ever do enough good deeds to earn forgiveness from God Almighty who is:

  • Creator of the heavens and the earth
  • Holy
  • Righteous
  • Just
  • Without any sin

Now, if it is impossible for me to do enough good deeds to earn my way into heaven, and it is impossible for any amount of money or status to earn a way for me to be saved from the laws of sin and death, exactly how do I think I can be saved?

Image Credit: http://i-training.info/?page_id=204

2.     The second impossibility that I believe in is that salvation is a gift from God:

For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord.
~ Romans 6:23 NLT ~
8 God saved you by His special favor when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. 9 Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.
So, if I believe the impossibility that God gives salvation as a gift, who then, is this gift for? 
Image Credit: http://www.oocities.org/mulraine/TheWorldKnewHimNot.html

3.     The third impossibility that I believe in is that salvation is a gift that God offers to the whole world…

    • To the rich
    • To the poor
    • To the wise
    • To the foolish
    • To those imprisoned
    • To those who are free
    • To every tongue and tribe and nation
    • To every race
    • To every culture
    • To people of every religion

What do I base this impossible belief on?

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life.”
4.     The fourth impossibility that I believe is that although God offers the free gift of eternal life to everyone in the entire world, there are many who die apart from God, because they choose to reject the gift of eternal life that He freely offers them.
Image Credit: http://kingdavid.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/easter_1024x768.jpg

It’s crazy to think that people would turn down this wonderful gift that is offered, because they don’t want their lives to change. People would rather hold on to that which they are familiar with, no matter how bad it may be, rather than to risk losing that, which will ultimately lead to their death… Think about it… People know the risks involved in smoking, but because it is a habit that they are comfortable with, they are willing to risk all of the horrible consequences that are involved, for just one more drag on the cigarette… I watched my birth father suffer from congestive heart failure, emphysema and repeated heart attacks, and yet, even knowing the risks involved in smoking while on oxygen, he still chose to smoke 5 packs of cigarettes a day! How crazy and impossible to think that people are so foolish!

And yet, how many of you, when faced with the truth that God loves you so much that He sent His only Son to suffer, bleed and die in exchange for  your life, will accept the free gift of eternal life that He offers you? Or will you be offended and refuse to accept that gift, choosing death instead, because of these words that Christ spoke? 
Jesus told him, I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through Me.”
You see, as sad as it is, and as impossible as it is to believe that anyone would reject the gift of salvation, Jesus tells us that it is so, and He tells us why too:
18″There is no judgment awaiting those who trust Him. But those who do not trust Him have already been judged for not believing in the only Son of God. 19 Their judgment is based on this fact: The light from heaven came into the world, but they loved the darkness more than the light, for their actions were evil. 20 They hate the light because they want to sin in the darkness. They stay away from the light for fear their sins will be exposed and they will be punished.”
5.     The fifth impossibility that I believe in are the miracles of God…
Image Credit: http://fineartamerica.com/featured/ the-miracles-of-jesus-walking-on-water- clive-uptton.html

I believe that all believers have the power to give sight to the blind, hearing to the deaf, and a voice to the mute. I believe that all believers have God’s Holy Spirit within them, giving them the power to set the captives free, loose the chains of fear, addiction, bitterness and anger. I believe that all believers can do the same miracles and even greater miracles that Jesus Christ did. I do not believe that God only uses people with big names and big television ministries to do His great work. I believe that God uses ordinary men and women like me and you to accomplish His miracles…

12 “The truth is, anyone who believes in Me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. 13 You can ask for anything in My name, and I will do it, because the work of the Son brings glory to the Father. 14 Yes, ask anything in My name, and I will do it!”
~ John 14:12-14 NLT ~
I believe that the only thing holding any of those who love and believe in Jesus back from doing these greater works is our unbelief… Too many of us think that God can do miracles in, through and for other people. Too many of us have bought the lie from the devil that God can’t work through ordinary people like you and me, and it holds us back from accomplishing all that God has called us to do. Read the bible and see what kind of people God chose to work through… He chose itinerant fishermenhateful tax collectorsthieveswhores and adulterersdemonized peoplea man with a speech impediment
6.     There are so many other impossibilities that I believe in, but alas, I was only asked to list six of them, and so, the sixth impossibility that I believe in is the Resurrection of the dead.
Image Credit: http://www.eborg2.com/Jesus/ Jesus-Second%20Coming/ Jesus%20Second%20Coming-10.jpg

I believe that Jesus did indeed suffer, bleed and die on the cross, and that three days later, He was raised (resurrected) from the dead. I believe that forty days later, He ascended into heaven, and is now seated at the right hand of God, interceding for me and all other believers. I believe that He is preparing a place for us to dwell with Him one day, and that He will once again return to the earth, not as a sacrifice this time, because He already fulfilled that calling. This time, when He returns, He is coming as a mighty warrior, to conquer the enemy once and for all, and to reclaim the earth as His own.

I believe that I too, will be resurrected when I die, because it is appointed once for me to die, and after that, I will be judged, not by my works, but my heart… Have I truly loved Jesus with all my heart, soul, mind and strength? Or have I loved man more? Has my heart remained steadfast to Him, or have I gone astray and chased after other lovers? 

15 “Take note: I will come as unexpectedly as a thief! Blessed are all who are watching for Me, who keep their robes ready so they will not need to walk naked and ashamed.”

~ Revelation 16:15 NLT ~

1 Blessed is the man Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, Nor stands in the path of sinners, Nor sits in the seat of the scornful; 2 But his delight is in the law of the Lord, And in His law he meditates day and night. 3 He shall be like a tree Planted by the rivers of water, That brings forth its fruit in its season, Whose leaf also shall not wither; And whatever he does shall prosper. 4 The ungodly are not so, But are like the chaff which the wind drives away. 5 Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, Nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous. 6 For the Lord knows the way of the righteous, But the way of the ungodly shall perish.

~ Psalm 1 NKJV ~

I have no doubt that there are many who disbelieve the possibilities of God, choosing to believe that they are impossible. I am also sure that many think those “impossibilities” that I hold fast to are foolish, but I can live with that, because I’m also foolish enough to believe and close with this statement:

27 Instead, God deliberately chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And He chose those who are powerless to shame those who are powerful. 28 God chose things despised by the world, things counted as nothing at all, and used them to bring to nothing what the world considers important, 29 so that no one can ever boast in the presence of God. 30 God alone made it possible for you to be in Christ Jesus. For our benefit God made Christ to be wisdom itself. He is the one who made us acceptable to God. He made us pure and holy, and He gave Himself to purchase our freedom. 31 As the Scriptures say, “The person who wishes to boast should boast only of what the Lord has done.”

~ 1 Corinthians 1:27-31 NLT ~

Many blessings to you, my beloved readers and friends, as you ponder the  endless impossibilities of man vs. the unending possibilities of God.

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

