Let There Be Light

1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 The earth was formless and empty, and darkness covered the deep waters. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the surface of the waters.

3 Then God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. 4 And God saw that the light was good. Then He separated the light from the darkness. 5 God called the light “day” and the darkness “night.”

And evening passed and morning came, marking the first day.

Genesis 1:1-5 — NLT ~

As I read the passage about the first day, when God created the heavens and the earth, and then He created light, I started to think about the significance of light. Think about it. God created the heavens and the earth in the dark. Not only did He create the heavens and the earth in the dark, but the earth was formless and empty.

Image Credit: http://soulmazal.blogspot.com/2012/03/colliding-with-2012.html
Image Credit:
http://soulmazal.blogspot.com/2012/03/colliding-with-2012.html

I’ve heard different theories about why the earth was formless and empty over the years, but men’s various theories don’t mean that much to me, and I don’t intend to share them here. I like to go by what the scripture says, and if I don’t understand something, I can ask God why, but He doesn’t usually answer those “why” questions. Therefore, it’s enough for me to know that God created the earth formless and void, and if He wants to tell me why He did it like that, hallelujah! But if He chooses not to share His reasoning with me, I accept that too.

formless — without a definite shape or form; amorphous

Imagine that… the earth was formless. It didn’t have any shape or form. That means that the earth as we know it now, didn’t exist when God first created it. The earth is now round, but when He first created it, it had no particular shape. It was a shapeless, dark, empty mass covered with water. It sounds sort of bleak, doesn’t it?

Image Credit: http://insidetheshrink-dailygrace.blogspot.com/2012/12/the-light-is.html
Image Credit:
http://insidetheshrink-dailygrace.blogspot.com/2012/12/the-light-is.html

I remember what my life was like before I came to know Jesus, as my Lord and Savior. My life was dark and lonely. There was an emptiness in my soul that I can’t describe, except to say that it was as if there was a vacuum within me, sucking all hope, all joy, and all peace away from me. I remember how bleak my life was, because I felt unloved and unlovable. Have you ever felt that way?

I remember dreaming of a better life as a teenager. I dreamed that Donny Osmond loved me, and that he would come to rescue me from the life I was living, but I knew that would never happen. Then, I would dream that my birth father would come and rescue me from the physical, sexual and emotional abuse that I had to endure, but again, that never happened. It was as though I was nobody or nothing — kind of like the earth was formless and void. I was nobody, and I was empty.

And yet, just as God spoke over the empty and shapeless earth, saying, “Let there be light,” He also spoke those life-giving words over my life. I am so grateful that He sent His only begotten Son to rescue me from the dark, barren life I was living before.

In the beginning the Word already existed. The Word was with God, and the Word was God. He existed in the beginning with God. God created everything through Him, and nothing was created except through Him. The Word gave life to everything that was created, and His life brought light to everyone. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.

John 1:1-5 — NLT ~

Jesus is the Word of God, and He was in the beginning with God when He spoke, “Let there be light.” When God/Jesus/the Word spoke in the beginning, He gave life to everything that He created, and His life brought light to everyone. It was the life that Christ willingly sacrificed that brings light to me, and in the midst of the darkness that is and was all around me, His light shines.

Image Credit: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-8AvKuk7B8-U/T4H-itjjK-I/AAAAAAAABcc/uk4WseG_z3A/s1600/cross-light.jpg
Image Credit:
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-8AvKuk7B8-U/T4H-itjjK-I/AAAAAAAABcc/uk4WseG_z3A/s1600/cross-light.jpg

Oh, my beloved readers, get this — because He lives within me, His light shines in the dark places in my soul, and those dark places can never extinguish it. No matter how dark everything around me is, as long as the light shines within me, the darkness can’t put the light out. Isn’t that awesome? Do you understand this? If you were to stand in the middle of a pitch black room, and light a match, what would happen to the darkness? It would be diminished, right? So the light can extinguish the darkness, but can the darkness make the light dark? Of course not. Darkness doesn’t get rid of light. Light gets rid of darkness.

The same thing happens when Christ enters your life. He brings light to those dark and scary places within you. When I was a little girl, I was afraid of the dark (actually, I was terrified of the dark), but the instant the light was turned on, the darkness was gone, and so was my fear. So it is with Christ. He exposes the darkness, and brings those dark places within us to light, so that we can overcome them. I don’t know about you, but I am so grateful that God said, “Let there be light.”

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

One thought on “Let There Be Light”

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

