Home…

Five Sentence Fiction – Home

Jun 12, 2013 ~ Written by lillie

What it’s all about: Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week I will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last week, my husband and I flew to Georgia to visit our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren, and though it was the first time I’ve ever been to Georgia, I was home. When we were at the airport in Atlanta, which is like a ginormous maze that was much to large for me to walk through, I was transported by wheelchair to my destination, assuring that my husband and I would catch our flight on time, and there, in that airport, surrounded by strangers from all over the world, I was home. 

Above the Clouds Cheryl A. Showers
Above the Clouds
Cheryl A. Showers

As my husband and I flew high above the clouds and I saw the world below from heaven’s perspective, taking note of the homes and buildings, which seemed too small for even a miniature doll house, while the people below were much too small to be viewed by the naked eye, again, I was home.

When we got off the plane, we decided that since we were only an hour away from our son and his family, we would visit them before returning to our residence, and while we were there, surrounded by my son, my beautiful daughter-in-law and their six children, I was home.

Finally, late yesterday afternoon, after picking up our guinea pig, my husband and I returned to our house, and as I relaxed in my recliner, while my husband laid down on the loveseat, (his favorite resting spot), I came to the profound conclusion that my home is not where I live, but who I am living with, and as long as I am with my God, my husband, my children and my loved ones, I will always be at home, no matter where I am.

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

