A Lifetime of Waiting

Image Credit: gracespieces.com
Image Credit:
gracespieces.com

Caddo’s 7-Sentence Story—was something I began at the now-defunct Caddo Veil blog.  No reason a’ tall we can’t do it here–once a month, give or take.

If you’re up for a challenge, write a story in 7 sentences and post it on your blog–then leave a link to it here in the comment box, so others can enjoy it.  Feel free to use the beautiful “button”, which our very talented friend Cee made for me!

Hallelujah! I’m up for the challenge… Below is my submission to Sis Caddo’s Seven Sentence Story, and if you click this link, you can see Sis Caddo’s most excellent submission, plus anyone else who may have a submission… Perhaps you would like to join in the fun too? Many blessings, my beloved readers!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Excuse me,” the young man gently touched her arm, speaking softly, almost reverently as she started to leave the worship service, and as she turned around to see who was speaking to her, Amy’s heart flip-flopped in her chest. Although she had never laid eyes on him before, Holy Spirit revealed that this was the man God had created for her, the one she had been praying for ever since she was a child. At the age of twenty-three, Amy had never been on a date, never been kissed, and had shown no interest in any of the young men around here, though she had heard the whispers and the gossip, as people wondered if she was gay or frigid, before they finally decided that her problem was that she was just too religious for her own good, surmising that a little bit of religion was okay, but too much religion could be a turn-off, and if she didn’t straighten up, she might wind up being a worn out old spinster who was all alone one day.

As her fluttering heartbeat slowed back down to normal, Amy looked up into the red face of the young man, “My name is Nathaniel,” he said shyly, “and I know this is going to sound crazy to you, but I’ve seen you in my dreams since I was a boy, when the Lord showed me who I was to marry, and I’ve never dated any other girl, because I was waiting for you.”

Amy smiled as she gently replied, “You don’t sound crazy at all, because the Lord just revealed to me that you are the husband I’ve been praying for since I was a girl.”

Then, grinning as he cleared his throat, Nathaniel responded, “Well, shall we ask the Pastor to marry us, or would you rather wait until we know each other better?”

Laughing joyfully, Amy replied, “I’ve been waiting for twenty-three years to marry you, and I think that’s long enough, don’t you?”

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

