Every Good Gift and Every Perfect Gift is From Above…

17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.

~ James 1:17 — NKJV ~

Hallelujah – I have much to thank the Lord for… He has given me life — not just for yesterday and today, even though if that was all He gave me, it would be enough… He has given me life for tomorrow, and for every tomorrow hereafter, into eternity, just because He loves me and chose me, and because I believe in Him.

Ian Nathaniel Showers 2aStill, the Lord blessed me abundantly above that too. As a child, I felt unloved and unwanted, and I used to pray that the Lord would bless me by sending someone to love me, just the way I am. I used to dream that my special someone would love me, and that he would stand up and defend me, protecting me from anyone who would harm me, and He did just that. First and foremost, each and every time the enemy has sought to destroy me, using nearly every dirty trick in the book, God has caused it to work together for my good.

Ian Nathaniel Showers 3

You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people.

~ Genesis 50:20 — NLT ~

 And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.

~ Romans 8:28 — NLT ~

Not only did I pray that God would send someone into my life to love me unconditionally, but another prayer that I prayed  regularly as a young girl was for the Lord to bless me with a large family. It’s funny, because I truly didn’t see how this would be possible, but when you’re a child, you don’t worry so much about the how’s and how to’s, like we do as adults. When I married my husband, I remembered the prayers I had prayed for a large family, and I wanted to have at least three or four children, but it took nearly two years of marriage before I gave birth to my first child. Almost a year later, I became pregnant with my second child, and I figured children three and four would follow shortly after, but I was wrong. Despite trying, right into my early forties, it wasn’t to be. It seemed that my prayer for a large family was not going to be answered, because in 2006, at the age of forty-five, I had a partial hysterectomy. Now, for sure and for certain, I would not have anymore children. I thought my prayer for a large family was simply one of those unanswered prayers that people talk about all the time…

Ian Nathaniel Showers 4But I was wrong. In May, 2006, my son’s wife gave birth to their first child, a little boy. Then, in February 2007, my daughter gave birth to her first child, a little girl. My son and his wife had a little girl in October 2007, and a little boy in January 2009, while my daughter and her husband had their second child in October 2009. My son and his wife gave birth to twins in August 2010, and today, at 11:16 a.m., my son and his wife gave birth to their sixth child, a little boy. In addition to that, my daughter and her husband are expecting their third child in July… This will be my ninth grandchild in seven years! It seems that the prayer that I prayed so many years ago, as a child, for a large family for me to love, and who would love me in return, was answered quite differently than I had expected it to be answered… Indeed, it has all worked out much better than I could ever have dreamed of, and both my children and my grandchildren truly love me. I am truly blessed among women, and every good gift and every perfect gift is from my Father above…

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

