My Psalm of Hope and Despair

Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy!
I look to You for protection.

    I will hide beneath the shadow of Your wings
until the danger passes by.
I cry out to God Most High,
to God who will fulfill His purpose for me.
He will send help from heaven to rescue me,
disgracing those who hound me. 
Interlude

My God will send forth His unfailing love and faithfulness

O Lord, You know the pain I’ve dealt with for so long now!
You alone know my struggles and my deepest fears.
Only You know the torment I’ve suffered this year.
Father, I am weary, and weak and so broken.

I’ve fought and I’ve fought, but still, the enemy marches over me.
He taunts me day and night, mocking my pain,
While I curl up into a ball, helpless and alone, unable to fight
For my strength is gone, it’s wasted away.

My Lord and my God, to You I cry out, “Save me, my King!”
For the bonds of the enemy are choking my life out.
My joy has departed, and now only darkness remains,
Cloaking my days in blackness and despair.

Yet in my weakness, I lift my eyes to the heavens
And cry out to You, Lord, My Rock and my Refuge!
“Arise now, O Lord, and let Your enemies be scattered!
“Be strong in my weakness, as Your light splits the darkness wide open!”

Though I see nothing but gloom all around me,
I will trust in You Lord, knowing Your ways aren’t mine.
I will cling tightly to You with all that is in me,
For this battle is Yours Lord, it isn’t mine.

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

