When Life Just Doesn’t Seem Fair! ~ Part 2

Image Credit: http://susanfee.blogspot.com/2011/11/be-glad-that-life-is-unfair.html

Here I am again, talking about the unfairness of life. Sometimes it really stinks, doesn’t it? I get so angry sometimes when I see the opulent living some people enjoy because they have swindled those less fortunate to support their lifestyles. Where is the justice in that? And what about the leaders of various countries, who live lives of decadence, while the citizens of those countries live meager lives, struggling just to find food and water for themselves and their families, never mind shelter!

For that matter, am I the only one who is outraged by our very own congress, who has the authority to vote for their own pay raises each year? How is it that they are allotted this privilege, when the rest of society must earn their raises based on merit, and even then, much of society still does not receive the raises necessary to make ends meet, regardless of how hard they work, and how dedicated they are to their various employers? Is that fair? I think not!

And what about those who get away with falsely accusing others, in order to cover their own shortcomings? I’ve been both a victim of this, as well as a witness to others who have suffered wrongly because of the lies of others. Is this fair? Of course not. That’s why I want to continue encouraging you, my brothers and sisters, to read the Word of God, and see that you’re not alone in this, as we learn how to deal with life’s unfair reality.

5 Commit everything you do to the LORD. Trust Him, and He will help you. ~ Psalm 37:5 NLT

Beloved, as I did yesterday, I want to continue today, breaking Psalm 37 down, because it is so rich and full of wisdom and hope, and today, we’re going to camp right here at verse 5…

Image Credit:
http://wallpaperscristaos.com.br/christianwallpapers
/commit-your-way

Commit everything you do to the LORD. Trust Him, and He will help you. This is huge. Stop and think about this for a while, then ask yourself, “Do I commit everything to the Lord?” Think about it… have you given Him all of your hopes, all of your joy, all of your plans and all of your dreams? Have you given Him your parents, your siblings, your spouse and your children? Have you given Him your friends, your acquaintances, your co-workers and your boss? Have you given Him your entire life, to do as He pleases?

When you commit everything you do to the Lord, you do as Christ did…

5 Your attitude should be the same that Christ Jesus had. 6 Though He was God, He did not demand and cling to His rights as God. 7 He made Himself nothing; He took the humble position of a slave and appeared in human form. 8 And in human form He obediently humbled Himself even further by dying a criminal’s death on a cross. ~ Philippians 2:5-8 NLT

Image Credit: http://souljournaler.blogspot.com/2010/07/self-selfless-two.html

Jesus committed everything He did to the Lord. His whole life – indeed, His whole purpose was to please God in everything He did. When He was treated unfairly, He never said, “You don’t know who you’re messing with. I’m a child of God, and you have no right to treat me like that. I know my rights,” like so many of us do. He knew who He was, and yet, He willingly laid His rights and privileges as the Son of God aside, so that God’s will might be accomplished, and not His own…

“Father, if You are willing, please take this cup of suffering away from Me. Yet I want Your will, not Mine.” ~ Luke 22:42 NLT

Image Credit: http://pinterest.com/pin/231020655855545967/

When I dare to complain about the unfairness of life, I find it very difficult to get past Jesus’ life. I’ve served God faithfully for more than twenty-five years now, and my husband and I haven’t had any income since November 2012… I’ve been hurt, abandoned and rejected by people that I love many times throughout the years… I just lost my mother, and she was only seventy-four years old… Less than a month after losing my mother, I found myself in the hospital, which I can’t afford, with a possibly deadly illness, and yet, when I think about Jesus and all that He endured for my sake, I just can’t bring myself to complain about the unfairness of it.

You see, even though I’ve had no income since November 2012, the Lord has been so very kind to me by making a way for my husband and me to keep our house. I have a roof over my head…

But Jesus replied, “Foxes have dens to live in, and birds have nests, but I, the Son of Man, have no home of My own, not even a place to lay My head.” ~ Luke 9:58 NLT

Image Credit: http://www.christianforums.com/t7461156/

Wow – how unfair is that? I, a sinner saved by His grace and His suffering have a home and a place to lay my head, while the Son of Man did not…

And though I’ve been hurt, abandoned and rejected throughout the years, the Lord has graciously and mercifully brought reconciliation in many circumstances, while other times, He has placed new people in my life, who love me and accept me as I am, so how can I complain about the  unfairness of it?

3 He was despised and rejected — a Man of sorrows, acquainted with bitterest grief. We turned our backs on Him and looked the other way when He went by. He was despised, and we did not care. ~ Isaiah 53:3 NLT

Image Credit: http://tazi-san.deviantart.com/art/Silent-Lamb-62444292

How can I complain about the unfairness of suffering pain, abandonment and rejection, when Jesus, Son of God, Savior of the world, left His home in glory to seek and save the lost ~ people like me, and His very own people ~ the ones He came to seek and save, hated Him and rejected Him? How can I whine about life’s unfairness, when He was hated and rejected to the point of death, and those people that He loved so much and came to rescue (people like you and me) turned our backs on Him? But even so, He didn’t whine or complain about it. He endured the shame and rejection and chose to rescue us anyway, even though we treated Him so unfairly…

I lost my mother, and then less than a month later, I wound up in the hospital with a potentially deadly illness, but dare I complain about that? No, my beloved, I can’t even complain about that, when I think about Jesus, who died at only thirty-three years of age. He died such a horrible, agonizing death, at such a young age, and He didn’t have to do it. He was beaten, spit upon, lied about and rejected, and He didn’t even argue about it. He didn’t tell His Father it was unfair, and He didn’t tell the scribes and pharisees it was unfair… 

“No one can take My life from Me. I lay down My life voluntarily. For I have the right to lay it down when I want to and also the power to take it again. For My Father has given Me this command.” ~ John 10:18 NLT

Brothers and sisters, in those times when life seem so unfair, don’t lose heart, and don’t be discouraged. Instead, let us look to Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who willingly endured all of the shame and the pain for the joy that was set before Him…

2 We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, on whom our faith depends from start to finish. He was willing to die a shameful death on the cross because of the joy He knew would be His afterward. Now He is seated in the place of highest honor beside God’s throne in heaven. 3 Think about all He endured when sinful people did such terrible things to Him, so that you don’t become weary and give up. 4 After all, you have not yet given your lives in your struggle against sin. ~ Hebrews 12:2-4 NLT

My beloved brothers and sisters, life is indeed very unfair, because we live in a fallen and sinful world, but don’t despair. No matter how bad our suffering, praise God, none of us have given our lives in our struggle against sin. And as Psalm 37:5 tells us, if we commit everything to the Lord and trust Him, He will help us…

This is my prayer for those of you who are currently suffering from the unfairness of life…

Heavenly Father, I pray that You would arise and show Yourself strong on behalf of my brothers and sisters, who are suffering from the unfair and unjust attacks from the enemy of our souls. I pray, Lord, that You would give them wisdom to know that if You are for them, no one can stand against them, and that You cause all things to work together for good to those who love You and are called according to Your purpose for them.

Lord, I pray in Jesus’ name that my brothers and sisters would commit everything they do to You, and that they would walk in Your ways, no matter how difficult the road may be. I pray that You would enable them to say, like the apostle Paul: 

“17 For our present troubles are quite small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us an immeasurably great glory that will last forever! 18 So we don’t look at the troubles we can see right now; rather, we look forward to what we have not yet seen. For the troubles we see will soon be over, but the joys to come will last forever.” ~ 2 Corinthians 4:17-18 NLT

In Jesus’ mighty name I pray, amen and amen…

May the Lord bless each one of you, my beloved readers, and I look forward to sharing with you again, as we continue this in depth study on the unfairness of life and Psalm 37.

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

