Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

by michelle w. on February 26, 2013

“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“I have told you all this so that you may have peace in Me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33 NLT)

Happily ever after here on earth is a fairy tale. How do I know this? I know it is true because Jesus said so. He tells us that here on earth, we will have many trials and sorrows, and so far, that has proven to be true for me. How about you?

This has been a particularly difficult time for me. Just a little more than a week ago, my mother passed away, and though I knew it was coming, it still left me broken-hearted. My greatest hope and prayer is that Mom went home to the Lord, and that we will meet again one day, in the heavenly realms. Until then, though, I have many memories like this to comfort me…

I was the cute little blonde in the pictures, which were many years and many pounds ago. 🙂 

Eeyore Watch_v1
Image Credit:
Cheryl Showers

1 There is a time for everything,
a season for every activity under heaven.
2 A time to be born and a time to die.
A time to plant and a time to harvest.
3 A time to kill and a time to heal.
A time to tear down and a time to rebuild.
4 A time to cry and a time to laugh.
A time to grieve and a time to dance.
5 A time to scatter stones and a time to gather stones.
A time to embrace and a time to turn away.
6 A time to search and a time to lose.
A time to keep and a time to throw away.
7 A time to tear and a time to mend.
A time to be quiet and a time to speak up.
8 A time to love and a time to hate.
A time for war and a time for peace.
(Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 NLT)

So, is it reasonable for us expect perpetual happiness? Of course not…

11 Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: 12 I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. 13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
(Philippians 4:11-13 NKJV)

Image Credit: http://www.heartlight.org/gallery/1136.html

It would be pointless for me to strive to live happily ever after, because there will always be circumstances and things that happen to knock me down. I understand that there will be mountaintop times in my life when I am very happy, and that there will also be the deep, dark valley times, when I am very unhappy. Still, I’m content with that, because I love God, and He has called me to fulfill His purpose while I am here on earth.

And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose for them.
(Romans 8:28 NLT)

Image Credit: http://www.heartlight.org/gallery/1863.html

Therefore, although there will be periods of unhappiness in my life, and though I must face many trials and tribulations, I can still rejoice, knowing that everything is working according to God’s plan for my life. Even though there will be times when the pain knocks me to my knees, I will still take joy in the fact that God is causing even those horrible, painful events to work together for my good, and if God is for me, who can be against me?

No weapon formed against you shall prosper, And every tongue which rises against you in judgment You shall condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, And their righteousness is from Me,” Says the Lord.
(Isaiah 54:17 NKJV)

Image Credit: http://www.heartlight.org/gallery/174.html

You see, I know that there will be good times and bad times, for as long as this life continues, but I can handle that. Because there is coming a day, for all who believe in Christ, when there will be no more sorrow and no more tears…

1 Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the old heaven and the old earth had disappeared. And the sea was also gone. 2 And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven like a beautiful bride prepared for her husband. 3 I heard a loud shout from the throne, saying, “Look, the home of God is now among His people! He will live with them, and they will be His people. God Himself will be with them. 4 He will remove all of their sorrows, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. For the old world and its evils are gone forever.”
(Revelation 21:1-4 NLT)

Hallelujah! While there is not happily ever after for me in this lifetime, I persevere in all my circumstances, hopefully and joyfully looking toward that beautiful day, when I will no longer suffer from death or sorrow or crying or pain. For the old things will have passed and behold! All things will become new. Until then, I will endure until the end…

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After”

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

