Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed

Write your own eulogy.
Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed

For years, I’ve said that I would like to preach my own funeral. Maybe that sounds crazy to you, but I’m very serious about that, so when I saw today’s daily prompt, I got excited. No, this isn’t my funeral sermon, which I may share with you someday, but what follows is the eulogy that I hope and pray I inspire others to think of me when my time on earth is through.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Greetings Everyone! In case no one can think of anything good to say about me when I’m gone, I’ve written my own eulogy to be read, so sit back, my friends, and remember me while whoever decided to read this, reads it to you. I know how hard it is for my husband and my children to make a decision about where to go for dinner or what to do on their day off, and I’m guessing that you had a hard time deciding who should read my eulogy at my funeral…

Photo Credit: http://www.heartlight.org/gallery/178.html

I’ve already taken care of making arrangements so that I can preach at my funeral, which has hopefully relieved some of your burden, and knowing how difficult this decision is for you to make, I want you to get two dice, and roll them, and the one with the highest number is to read my eulogy… As you’ve probably figured out by now, I couldn’t decide who should read the darn thing either, or I would have told you so. I guess the apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree. Anyway, sit back and relax for awhile as I share my memories of me with you…

Oh yes, one more thing before the reader shares my eulogy… You may notice that I am speaking in the present tense, although I’ve passed away, and there’s a very good reason for that. You see, my beloved family and friends, to be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord. Although my former dwelling (my flesh, my body) has died, my spirit lives on.

Photo Credit: http://www.heartlight.org/gallery/114.html

Hallelujah! No more glum faces! This is a celebration, because ever since I came to know the Lord, I’ve longed to see Him face to face. I’ve longed to touch His face, to feel the warmth of His embrace. I yearned for Him to wipe every tear away from my eyes… I desired to touch His nail pierced hands, and put my hand in His side, not to prove that it really happened, but just because I want to honor Him for all of the suffering that He endured for my sake…

The most outstanding thing I can reveal to you about myself is that I truly love the Lord, my God with all of my heart… indeed, my heart beats for Him… Oh! How I love Jesus…

I love the Lord, my God with all of my soul… Every emotion I have comes from Him… He is my joy… He is my peace… I am angry at the things that make Him angry… My heart breaks for the things that break His heart… I yield my soul to Him…

Photo Credit: http://www.heartlight.org/gallery/466.html

I love the Lord, the King of Glory with all of my mind… Although I had many battles within my mind while I traversed the earth, I can now tell you that the battle has been won! I truly hold every thought captive for Christ… I now fix my thoughts on what is true and honorable and right. I think about things that are pure and lovely and admirable. I think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.

I love the Lord God Almighty, with all of my strength… In my new glorified body, I worship Him in song and in dance… I worship Him in battle — oh yes, my brothers and sisters… those of you who walk with the Lord, and those of you who don’t yet walk with the Lord… The Lord is preparing His saints (hallelujah — yes, I am a saint) for that great and glorious day, when we shall ride with Him, armed for battle, as we are engaged in that great and final battle with the enemy and his demons! My friends, get ready, because the time is drawing near.

Do you remember how I loved to sing — whether it sounded good or not? Do you remember how we would be talking about something, and suddenly I would burst into a song that fit the topic? I used to say that  I have a song for every occasion, and it was pretty much true. You should hear me sing now… My voice is beautiful now… it is strong, yet soft and melodious, and guess what? Sometimes, Jesus lets me sing with the angels!

Photo Credit: http://www.heartlight.org/gallery/525.html

Do you remember how I loved to laugh? Some people loved to hear the sound of my laughter, while others hated it. Do you remember my witty sense of humor? Ok, I thought I had a witty sense of humor, while some thought I was a cornball. Anyway, you know what? I still have that same sense of humor, and I just crack the angels up! The Lord even gets tickled with me sometimes.

I might as well talk about some of my struggles as well. Many times, I was much too quick to anger. All too often, I spoke before I thought. Too many times, I hurt people with my sharp tongue. I know this is supposed to be a eulogy, and it’s supposed to be uplifting, but I always did march to the beat of a different drum. Therefore, since it’s my eulogy and since I wrote it, I can say whatever I want to say in it, right?

So, for every person I lost my temper with… for every one who was hurt by my razor sharp tongue, for every person I hurt, either intentionally or unintentionally, I humbly apologize, and I ask for your forgiveness. There is never a good reason for hurting anyone, therefore, I offer no excuses for my bad behavior. I was wrong to hurt you, and I am truly sorry for everyone that I hurt.

In closing, the most important thing that I could ask anyone to remember about me is this:

Cheryl Showers loved the Lord with all her heart, soul, mind and strength… And Jesus led me all the way!

God bless everyone who took time out of your busy schedule to come and honor me, and please, don’t cry for me I am happier than I ever dreamed I could be! Please, just sit back, listen and enjoy this song, and then go, eat and spend time with one another.

And one more thing… I just have to say this before you bury me. Seek the Lord today, while He may still be found. Call on Him… cry out to Jesus, because I long to see each one of you again. Please don’t harden your hearts!

Many blessings to you, and much love,
Cheryl

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

