Daily Prompt: Just A Dream – Door Number Two

Dragon Flyingwww.eborg3.com
Dragon Flying
http://www.eborg3.com

As I stepped through this door, my eyes were immediately riveted to the dark foul smelling creature before me. I looked to my friend for comfort as fear welled up in me, but to my dismay, he disappeared in a puff of smoke. It was immediately evident that I had chosen the wrong door, and I quickly turned around to try and go back through to the other side of it, but it too, disappeared in a puff of smoke.

The evil creature chortled gleefully, as it hissed,

“Mine was the biggest
And best to behold
For I made it my business
To coat it with gold

“I knew you would choose
The same as the others
To follow my clues
And the pathway of others

“The door of the humble
I knew you’d ignore
And my way you would stumble
To choose the one you abhor!”

I understood then that by my disobedience and foolishness I had sealed my fate. In choosing to go my own way, I had chosen the wrong door…

 “You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose the easy way.” (Matthew 7:13 NLT)

© 2012
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

