Daily Prompt: Forever Young

If there were a real Fountain of Youth, would you drink the water?
Daily Prompt: Forever Young

"The River"By Amy Rylander
“The River”
By Amy Rylander

When I first saw this prompt, I felt uninspired… Of course that could be due to a lack of sleep and not feeling well. I’ve been in a lot of pain today, and sometimes pain can make you very discouraged. I’m still in a lot of pain, but hallelujah! I did have a nap, so I’m not quite as tired. Anyway, I just looked at this prompt again, and the spirit within me just leaped! No kidding – I don’t know why I didn’t see it before. I guess pain and depression can make you blind too… Anyway, without further ado, I’d like to address this question.

"Cool Drink of Water"By Amy Rylander
“Cool Drink of Water”
By Amy Rylander

If there was a real Fountain of Youth, would you drink the water? What if I told you that there is a real fountain of youth (although that isn’t its official name)? And what if I told you that it is available to everyone, the only requirement is that you believe and travel on the correct pathway? And suppose I told you that there is only one way to get there, and that the narrow road must be entered by a small gateway, that many never find, because they’re going the wrong way? Do you think I’m crazy?

This fountain of youth is actually a river that flows from beneath the throne of God. You see, people talk about this mythical fountain of youth as though it is a myth, but somewhere deep within, their hearts yearn for this fountain. Why do you think stories of this fountain have passed from generation to generation, throughout the ages? Could it be because there is some truth to those stories, and that the truth about God is written on the hearts of men? For the truth about God is known to them instinctively. God has put this knowledge in their hearts. (Romans 1:19 NLT)

This river flows from beneath the throne of God Almighty, and to enter into His presence, where this river of living waters is, you must travel the narrow road, and very few people ever find it, because they choose to travel the easier, less obscure road, the road that is well-traveled. Many are offended when they hear that there is only one way to get to this river, so they try to create other ways instead, always failing to locate the river. Many people hate the ones who travel the narrow road, calling them names such as “intolerant” and “narrow-minded.” However, it was Jesus, the only begotten Son of God who said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6 NLT)

"Worship Over America" By Amy Rylander
“Worship Over America”
By Amy Rylander

And what do the scriptures say about this fountain of youth? And the angel showed me a pure river with the water of life, clear as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb,coursing down the center of the main street. On each side of the river grew a tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, with a fresh crop each month. The leaves were used for medicine to heal the nations. No longer will anything be cursed. For the throne of God and of the Lamb will be there, and His servants will worship Him. And they will see His face, and His name will be written on their foreheads. And there will be no night there — no need for lamps or sun — for the Lord God will shine on them. And they will reign forever and ever. (Revelation 22:1-5 NLT)

I can see it in my mind’s eye, and I long to go to that place. It’s not just some imaginary, mythical place conceived in the minds of ordinary men. No! This is an actual place that I do want to see one day, and listen to this:

 Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the old heaven and the old earth had disappeared. And the sea was also gone. And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven like a beautiful bride prepared for her husband. I heard a loud shout from the throne, saying, “Look, the home of God is now among His people! He will live with them, and they will be His people. God Himself will be with them. He will remove all of their sorrows, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. For the old world and its evils are gone forever.

And the one sitting on the throne said, “Look, I am making all things new!” And then He said to me, “Write this down, for what I tell you is trustworthy and true.” And He also said, “It is finished! I am the Alpha and the Omega — the Beginning and the End. To all who are thirsty I will give the springs of the water of life without charge! All who are victorious will inherit all these blessings, and I will be their God, and they will be My children.

“But cowards who turn away from Me, and unbelievers, and the corrupt, and murderers, and the immoral, and those who practice witchcraft, and idol worshipers, and all liars — their doom is in the lake that burns with fire and sulfur. This is the second death.” (Revelation 21:1-8 NLT)

Hallelujah! Do you see that? There is a beautiful, wonderful place prepared for the men, women and children of God – a place where there is no more sorrow or death… When I think of the sorrow that each one of us has gone through in our lifetimes… when I think about the sorrow of the people of Newtown, CT… when I think of the sorrow of our nation, my heart yearns to be in that place where I will never again be crushed by sorrow or death.

Now, I don’t know about you, but my poor body has been wracked with pain, and as I read these words, joy washes over me. I feel like weeping as I think of going to that place where I will never again suffer pain – neither physical, nor emotional, nor spiritual pain. And every one of the tears that I’ve cried will be wiped away. Just look at the words of King David, You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in Your bottle. You have recorded each one in Your book.” (Psalm 56:8 NLT) It blesses me to know that God cares so much about us that He has collected all of our tears in a bottle. Sometimes, I wonder how big my bottle is, when I think about this. And to know that He cares so much for us that He has recorded each one of our tears in His book is mind-boggling. Just think about it. Can you remember every tear you’ve ever shed, and why? I can’t… But He not only remembers, He has a journal of those tears, because we mean that much to Him.

"Rivers of Living Water"By Amy Rylander
“Rivers of Living Water”
By Amy Rylander

So, in answer to your question, “If there was a real Fountain of Youth, would you drink the water?” my answer is a resounding, “YES!!!” I choose to travel that narrow road, even if I must go alone, and even though the path is difficult. I choose to travel that One Way street, no matter who it offends, because I must get to that river and drink of that living, healing water. I must see the face of God! 

So now, I turn the question back to you. Knowing what I just told you, will you drink from the living water?

© 2012
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

