Daily Prompt: My Hero!

Tell us about your hero.
Daily Prompt: My Hero!

cup of hot chocolate with whipped cream and co...
cup of hot chocolate with whipped cream and cocoa powder (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hallelujah! After yesterday’s sad prompt, I was excited to see today’s prompt. Yippee! I get to tell you about my hero. Before I get started, go get a cup of coffee, or a soda or some hot cocoa; get a nice comfy pillow and a warm toasty blanket, and maybe a little snack, then come on back, settle in, and make yourself comfortable, while I tell you about my Hero.

Although He is:

Faster than a speeding bullet
More powerful than a locomotive
Able to leap tall buildings in a single bound

Look! Up in the sky!
He’s not a bird!
He’s not a plane!

Mighty Mouse in Ralph Bakshi's adaptation
Mighty Mouse in Ralph Bakshi’s adaptation (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

He isn’t Superman… Although He’s simply amazing, He isn’t Spiderman… And though He’s incredible, He isn’t the Hulk… Though He can cut pollution down to zero, He isn’t Captain Planet… Though He comes to save the day, He isn’t Mighty Mouse… Though He is fantastic, He isn’t Mr. Fantastic… He isn’t the Lone Ranger… He isn’t Tonto… He’s the Light of the World, therefore, He can never be the Dark Knight…

Shall I describe my hero to you?

He is the fairest of 10,000
He is the bright and morning star
He is the Alpha and the Omega
He is the First and the Last
He is the Beginning and the End
He is my Peace
He is my Light and my Salvation
He is my God – in Him I trust
He is my Refuge and my Fortress
He is the Rock of Ages
He is the Ancient of Days
He is Hope for the hopeless
He is Rest for the weary
He is the Defender of the defenseless
He is the Author and Finisher of my faith
He is Ageless and Timeless
He is the Wheel in the middle of the wheel
He is the Lamb of God
He is the Lion of the Tribe of Judah
He is the Only Way
He is Life
He is Truth
He is a Strong Tower
He is Safe
He is Jesus…

He is the Hope that I cling to
He is Life to my soul
He is my Refuge from the storm
He is the Love of my life
He is the One that I trust

He is Emmanuel – God with me
In good times and bad
Through thick and through thin
When I’m right and when I’m wrong
He is faithful to the end

He has seen me and loved me at my worst
He has suffered with me through my pain
He has rejoiced with me in my joy
He has strengthened me in my weakness
He has conquered all my fears

He has turned my mourning into dancing
He has turned my weeping into singing
He has turned my sorrow into joy
He has turned my darkness into light
He has turned my weakness into strength

He has made a way for me where there was no way
He has released me from the bonds of shame and fear
He has loved me when no one else did
He has set me free from doubt and depression
He is my joy, He is my strength, He is my life, He is my hope…
He is my reason for living

And that’s why Jesus Christ… Son of God… Son of Man… the Resurrection and the Life… the Soon Coming King… is my Hero!

© 2012
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

