Words of Jesus – The Highway to Hell

“You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose the easy way. But the gateway to life is small, and the road is narrow, and only a few ever find it.” (Matthew 7:13-14 NLT)

http://www.behance.net/gallery/ROAD-TO-HELL/312826
http://www.behance.net/gallery/ROAD-TO-HELL/312826

I wanted to finish this word from the Lord today. The other day, we talked about the narrow gate to God’s Kingdom, and it’s important for us to understand and beware of that other way, the broader, seemingly easier way, the highway to hell. I want to share this word with you, my beloved, because many people choose this way, and if the gateway to life is on the small, narrow road, then you can be sure that the highway to hell is the gateway to death and eternal damnation.

A lot of people don’t like to talk about hell today, because it’s unpleasant, and they’re right, it is unpleasant, and it is not God’s will for any to perish, because He truly loves us. The Lord isn’t really being slow about His promise to return, as some people think. No, He is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to perish, so He is giving more time for everyone to repent. (2 Peter 3:9 NLT)

Beloved, I want to share this word from the Lord with you, not because I want to “scare the hell out of you,” but because I love you. You see, for everyone out there in cyberspace, who is pro-choice, I want to share the truth with you that long before you were pro-choice, God was pro-choice. From the very beginning, He could have created a race of slaves, who were obedient to His every whim, but He didn’t, because He wanted something more than just mindless, obedient robots and slaves.

creating_adam
http://www.genesissecretsrevealed.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/creating_adam.jpg

God created man in His own image, and He breathed the breath of life into our nostrils, giving each one of us a spirit. Have any of you ever struggled with your image of yourself? Have you struggled with low self-esteem and low self-worth? Well, know this, beloved, you were created in the image of God, for His glory. The Lord says to you, “All who claim Me as their God will come, for I have made them for My glory. It was I who created them.” (Isaiah 43:7 NLT)

Dictionary.com defines glory this way:

  1. very great praise, honor, or distinction bestowed by common consent; renown: to win glory on the battlefield.
  2. something that is a source of honor, fame, or admiration; a distinguished ornament or an object of pride: a sonnet that is one of the glories of English poetry.
  3. adoring praise or worshipful thanksgiving: Give glory to God.
  4. resplendent beauty or magnificence: the glory of autumn.
  5. a state of great splendor, magnificence, or prosperity.

Beloved, we were created to be a people of resplendent beauty or magnificence for God. But sadly, many of us choose to walk in filth and squalor, rather than reflecting the glory of God and being all that we were created to be. My friends, from the beginning, mankind was given a choice, to either love God and walk in His ways, so that we would be men and women in all the fullness of what we were created to be, or to hate God and become whatever we choose to become.

There were also consequences for turning away from God and what we were created to be, and He made those consequences clear to His children, over and over again, not out of hatefulness or vindictiveness, but out of love, much the same way a parent sets consequences before their children. Because I love my children, as they were growing up and maturing, I gave them more freedom, and with that freedom, came more choices. For example, would they choose to obey the driving laws and the curfew I set before them? Or would they choose to drive recklessly or stay out past their curfew? Because I loved them so much, I wanted them to choose to obey the laws and me for their own good, so I set before them the consequences of disobedience. I told them these consequences up front, not because I wanted to punish them (I was praying that they would obey the law and me), but because I wanted to protect them from harm.

My rules and the consequences many times chafed against them, because in their foolishness and in their youth, they couldn’t see the true dangers lurking in the world, which were far more harmful to them. I am blessed that often, my children were obedient, and therefore the punishments and consequences were unnecessary. But there were times, when they rebelled against me and the rules that I set before them, and I was forced to punish them. I can assure you, this brought no pleasure to me, just as it brings no pleasure to our heavenly Father, when He is forced to punish us because of our rebellion. Still, those punishments and consequences are necessary, to protect us from straying further away from the narrow road, and possibly condemning ourselves to an eternity separated from God.

Brothers and sisters, hell was created for the devil and his angels, and God never wanted man to go there. However, as I said earlier, God is pro-choice, and He gives each person the opportunity to choose Him and live, or to choose the devil and spend eternity in hell. Now some might say, “Look, just because I’m not a Christian doesn’t mean that I serve the devil,” but that’s not how God sees it.

Jesus said, Anyone who isn’t helping Me opposes Me, and anyone who isn’t working with Me is actually working against Me. (Matthew 12:30 NLT) Jesus also said, “If God were your Father, you would love Me, because I have come to you from God. I am not here on My own, but He sent Me. Why can’t you understand what I am saying? It is because you are unable to do so! For you are the children of your father the Devil, and you love to do the evil things he does. He was a murderer from the beginning and has always hated the truth. There is no truth in him. When he lies, it is consistent with his character; for he is a liar and the father of lies.” (John 8:42-44 NLT)

So you see my friends, the highway to hell is broad and wide, and many take that road, choosing to turn away from God. God doesn’t send anyone to hell. They choose to travel that road. If you give me directions to your house, but I choose to take a different road, which goes in the opposite direction of where you told me to go, would it be fair of me to say that you sent me to a place that I didn’t want to go to? Of course not, because I chose to go the wrong way.

http://dzinekart.com/vector-leading-road-to-heaven.html
http://dzinekart.com/vector-leading-road-to-heaven.html

So it is with everyone who travels the highway to hell. God has given us clear instructions for how to get to His Kingdom… Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6 NLT) The Lord tells us, For if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved. (Romans 10:9-10 NLT) 

It seems so simple, and yet many will not find that narrow gate, because they refuse to look for it. Instead, they chase other ways, following after their own  hearts, and their own reasoning. Hear me today, my friends, there is only One Way to the Kingdom of God, and don’t be angry at me for saying this, because these are not my words, but God’s words.

Beloved, I pray that you will heed the warnings in this post. It hasn’t been an easy or fun post for me to write, but I truly care about you. We truly serve a God who is pro-choice and pro-life. It is His desire that none of us should perish. Therefore, it seems right for me to close with the words that Moses spoke to the Israelites thousands of years ago, and as he offered them this choice, so I too offer you this choice:

“This command I am giving you today is not too difficult for you to understand or perform. It is not up in heaven, so distant that you must ask, ‘Who will go to heaven and bring it down so we can hear and obey it?’ It is not beyond the sea, so far away that you must ask, ‘Who will cross the sea to bring it to us so we can hear and obey it?’ The message is very close at hand; it is on your lips and in your heart so that you can obey it.

“Now listen! Today I am giving you a choice between prosperity and disaster, between life and death. I have commanded you today to love the LORD your God and to keep His commands, laws, and regulations by walking in His ways. If you do this, you will live and become a great nation, and the LORD your God will bless you and the land you are about to enter and occupy. But if your heart turns away and you refuse to listen, and if you are drawn away to serve and worship other gods, then I warn you now that you will certainly be destroyed. You will not live a long, good life in the land you are crossing the Jordan to occupy.

“Today I have given you the choice between life and death, between blessings and curses. I call on heaven and earth to witness the choice you make. Oh, that you would choose life, that you and your descendants might live! Choose to love the LORD your God and to obey Him and commit yourself to Him, for He is your life. Then you will live long in the land the LORD swore to give your ancestors Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.” (Deuteronomy 30:11-20 NLT)

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

