Words of Jesus – Ask, Seek and Knock – Part 2

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. Or what man is there among you who, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent? If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him!” (Matthew 7:7-11 NKJV)

I love this scripture! Oh alright, I love all scripture, because it is God-breathed… In Part 1 of this 2-part post, I talked about why we don’t always get what we ask for, but now, in Part 2, I want to talk about the goodness of God. That’s a pretty awesome topic, wouldn’t you say?

First of all, let’s look at this scripture in the New Living Translation. I like that sometimes, because it just speaks to us in plain English. It’s not as flowery as other versions, but sometimes I just like plain and simple. 🙂

“Keep on asking, and you will be given what you ask for. Keep on looking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And the door is opened to everyone who knocks. You parents — if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! If you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask Him.” (Matthew 7:7-11 NLT)

Do you know what jumps out at me first of all? “Keep on asking… Keep on looking… Keep on knocking…” Did you pick up on that? It makes me think of my relationship with my kids. I remember the year we took them to Disney World. They were so excited, and so were my husband and I. Oh, they kept asking all kinds of questions. Would we do this? Could we please do that? It was so much fun seeing the eager anticipation on their little faces.

Disney
Disney (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And then one day, I heard them talking through the heat vent in my son’s room. I was downstairs at the time, and I could hear them both enthusiastically talking about Disney World, and in a crazy moment of insanity, I got down on my hands and knees and spoke into the vent, in my high-pitched Mickey Mouse voice, “Helloooo! This is Mickey Mouse.”

There was silence for just a few seconds, and then, “Mickey Mouse?” my son shouted into the vent. “Where are you?” I could hear him and his sister talking. “It’s Mickey Mouse!” they said with glee.

I spoke to them for a few minutes, then said I had to go, but I’d be talking to them again soon. After saying their goodbyes, the next thing I heard was, “Let’s go tell Mom that Mickey Mouse is staying in our vents!” I hurriedly got back up off the floor and dusted my pants off, acting quite skeptical as they came charging downstairs to share the news with me.

Minnie Mouse
Minnie Mouse (Photo credit: ross_hawkes)

And so began a time of great fun with my husband, my children and I, as both Mickey Mouse (played by my husband in his best high-pitched Mickey voice) and Minnie Mouse (played by yours truly in my high-pitched Minnie voice) would speak to them from the vents in the months leading up to our Disney trip. This wasn’t an everyday thing, but it was pretty frequent, and it only served to increase their anticipation of the big vacation. I’m telling you, we not only had the most wonderful vacation ever, but our great time began in the months leading up the vacation, when “Mickey Mouse” and “Minnie Mouse” would speak to them from the vents.

Our children’s joy delighted us. My children are 29 and 27 now, but we still get a lot of joy as we remember those visits from the famous rodents. So, you’re probably wondering if I’ve totally lost my train of thought, since this is supposed to be about the greatness of God, right? Believe it or not, I’m still on track. You see, as much as my children’s joy blessed my husband and me, our joy blesses our heavenly Father even more.

You see, the more our children asked us if we could do this or that on our trip, the more they sought those famous mice hiding in our duct work, the more they would knock on our bedroom door (or sometimes barge into it with sheer joy and excitement), the more my husband and I wanted to give them what they were asking for, and seeking. It also made us want to open doors for them that they hadn’t even thought of!

“You parents — if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! If you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask Him.” (Matthew 7:9-11 NLT)

As I read this scripture, and as I think about my children, I’m mindful of my Daddy in heaven, who loves me even more than I love my children. Wow – how is that even possible? Oh yeah – with God, all things are possible. 🙂

Beloved, when you pray, do you pray as eagerly and enthusiastically and endearingly as my children talked to their Daddy and me about Mickey and Minnie Mouse? Or do you pray stiffly and rigidly, not really even daring to get your hopes up? Do you pray, believing as my children believed, that your heavenly Father wants to give you what you are asking for?

In Ask, Seek and Knock – Part 1, we talked about delighting ourselves in the Lord, and that He would give you the desires of your heart. Beloved, if you delight yourself in Him, you should know that He will give you the desires of your heart, so when you’re talking to Him, be like my children. Ask Him, knowing that giving you the desires of your heart delights Him. And keep on asking… keep on seeking… keep on knocking, because you have no idea how endearing that is to Him.

“Keep on asking, and you will be given what you ask for. Keep on looking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And the door is opened to everyone who knocks. You parents — if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! If you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask Him.” (Matthew 7:7-11 NLT)

© 2012
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

