Words of Jesus – Don’t Worry

“No one can serve two masters. For you will hate one and love the other, or be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.

http://www.naturephoto-cz.com/tree-sparrow-photo-2472.html

 “So I tell you, don’t worry about everyday life — whether you have enough food, drink, and clothes. Doesn’t life consist of more than food and clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t need to plant or harvest or put food in barns because your heavenly Father feeds them. And you are far more valuable to Him than they are.  Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? Of course not.

“And why worry about your clothes? Look at the lilies and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and gone tomorrow, won’t He more surely care for you? You have so little faith!

“So don’t worry about having enough food or drink or clothing. Why be like the pagans who are so deeply concerned about these things? Your heavenly Father already knows all your needs, and He will give you all you need from day to day if you live for Him and make the Kingdom of God your primary concern.

“So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” (Matthew 6:24-34 NLT)

Thank You Lord, for speaking this word into my heart right now, when I’m beginning to get anxious.

http://dl.creationswap.com/15645.jpg

God’s timing is always perfect. He’s stretching me, and can I tell you? It’s scary sometimes. You see, I need to apply for disability, and there’s no guarantee that I will be approved. I may be without health insurance by the end of this month, and my husband’s pension and his business are not enough for us to live on, even if we get all of our debts paid off.

My way of dealing with difficult situations is to try not to look too hard at them (as I secretly hope that it will go away), while my husband’s way of dealing with things is to worry and talk things into the ground… Truth be told, neither way is very helpful, but I guess the Lord put us together to sort of balance things out… Because he dwells on things, I am forced to deal with those things that I’d rather just ignore and pretend aren’t there, and because I don’t like to dwell on the unpleasant, I’m able to lighten my husband’s burden.

So here we are. Because I’ve not been making the income I used to receive, we have fallen behind on our debts. I don’t like that. I want to be honorable and pay my debts, but I’m not able to do so. My sister and her husband graciously offered to give my husband and me a gift that will help to wipe out most of our debts back in September. I was truly humbled by the kindness of their generous offer.

http://mikecorthell.blogspot.com/2011/09/humble.html
I don’t know if any of you can relate to this, but I really was humbled by this offer. I had to let go of pride in order to accept their offer. Wow – pride is something that seems so right, and yet the Lord shows us over and over again just how wrong it really is. You see, I felt like a loser, because my husband and I don’t have a lot, but what we do have, we’ve worked for – until now. Now, I didn’t have to swallow my pride – I had to KILL my pride in order to accept their gift. You see, the Lord not only wants us to learn how to give graciously. He wants us to learn how to receive graciously.

At the time, she and her husband said they would give us this gift in a couple of weeks. Then, they told us they would give us the gift by the middle of November. That was last week. Now, I’ve got bill collectors calling and I told them that I would try to pay them by the end of the month, thinking that we would get the money by the middle of the month and we would be able to pay things off.

I haven’t allowed myself to think about things too much, but I’ll confess to you that I’m beginning to worry… So, I decide to go think about other things and continue writing about the Words of Jesus, and isn’t it just too funny that Jesus wants to talk to me about money and about worrying about what’s going to happen?

Is anyone else awed by how much He loves us? It’s no coincidence that this would be the   next scripture passage in this series of His words. He knew before the foundations of the earth were laid, that I would be sitting here trying not to worry and struggling, and so when He ordained me to begin this study, He planned that I would read His words about worrying and trusting in the Lord.

“So I tell you, don’t worry about everyday life — whether you have enough food, drink, and clothes. Doesn’t life consist of more than food and clothing?” (Matthew 6:25 NLT) Yes Lord, life consists of far more than food and clothing. It consists of loving and being loved, of knowing You and walking with You, talking with You and trusting in You.

“Look at the birds. They don’t need to plant or harvest or put food in barns because your heavenly Father feeds them. And you are far more valuable to Him than they are.” (Matthew 6:26 NLT) Thank You Lord, for loving me and for valuing me. Yes, thank You because I mean more to you than birds, or any other animal or creature… Thank You for calling me Your beloved, for calling me the apple of Your eye, for saying that I am precious in Your sight. Thank You, because if You take care of these creatures, how much more You will take care of me?

http://sundogsayings.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/field-of-dreams/

“And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and gone tomorrow, won’t He more surely care for you? You have so little faith!” (Matthew 6:30 NLT) Yes You will care for me Daddy. If You take care of flowers that are only here for such a short time, You will surely take care of my needs…You will surely take care of my medical needs when I have no insurance to pay for them, because You are Jehovah Rapha, the God who heals me… And yes Lord, I confess to You that my faith is much weaker than I thought. Lord, help my unbelief!

“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.” (Matthew 6:33 NKJV) Lord, I choose to trust in You with all my heart and lean not on my own understanding. I want to please You, to seek You and Your kingdom. I’m seeking Your righteousness. Lord, I don’t just want to seek what You can give me or do for me. I want to seek Your kingdom and Your righteousness first. I want to see Your face. Help me to keep my eyes fixed on You and not on my circumstances. Give me dove’s eyes Lord… I’m casting my cares on You, because You care for me, so I’ll trust You to take care of my needs.

“So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” (Matthew 6:34 NLT) Forgive me for worrying, Lord. You’re absolutely right. Tomorrow will bring its own worries. All I ask is that You help me deal with today’s trouble in Jesus’ name.

Father, thank You so much for Your holy word. Thank You for being an on-time God. In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.

© 2012
Cheryl A. Showers

Related articles

  • Faith? (thelordswitness.com)
  • Worry (thedistinctdot.com)
Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

