Words of Jesus – Good Eyesight

“The lamp of the body is the eye. If therefore your eye is good, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If therefore the light that is in you is darkness, how great is that darkness!” (Matthew 6:22-23 NLT)

How are your eyes? Is your vision sharp, clear and focused? Or is your vision darkened, blurry and unfocused? So many times, we think we’re seeing things clearly, but are we? What kind of lenses are we looking through? Do we have the eyes of doves? Or do we have the eyes of mules?

http://randomthoughtsofaplum.blogspot.com/2011/03/its-official-im-peacock.html

“Behold, thou art fair, My love; behold, thou art fair; thou hast doves’ eyes.” (Song of Solomon 1:15 KJV) In this verse, under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, Solomon speaks to his bride, just as Jesus speaks to His bride, the church. He says that we are fair, beautiful. Imagine that! When the Lord looks at us, He doesn’t see ugly. He sees beauty, loveliness… He says that we have doves’ eyes…

Now, if the Lord says we have doves’ eyes, then there must be something wonderful, something special about doves’ eyes… Doves’ eyes are monocular, not binocular, which means that rather than seeing the same thing with both eyes, the eye on the left side will see something other than what the right eye is seeing. If the dove sees something very interesting, it will focus on that object, noticing nothing else… It’s also interesting to note that doves mate for life. Unlike many other animal and bird species, doves remain with one mate until that mate dies…

Therefore, when the Lord is saying that we have doves’ eyes, He is saying that our eyes are focused on Him… like the old song says, “I Only Have Eyes For You.” 

And get this,  His eyes are as the eyes of doves by the rivers of waters, washed with milk, and fitly set. (Song of Solomon 5:12 KJV) Do you see it? He has His eyes fixed on us – His bride. Listen to what He says when we turn our eyes to Him, “You have ravished My heart, My treasure, My bride. I am overcome by one glance of your eyes, by a single bead of your necklace.” (Song of Solomon 4:9 NLT)

Do not be like the horse or like the mule, Which have no understanding, Which must be harnessed with bit and bridle, Else they will not come near you. (Psalm 32:9 NKJV) Let’s look at the characteristics of a mule…

Mules have a reputation of being stubborn. Many breeders claim they are stubborn because they are intelligent animals, and anything that thinks tends to be stubborn. I think I can agree with this. Look at people, those who seem to do the most thinking, sometimes begin to think they know everything, and the more we think we know, the less we are willing to listen to others. And if we think we are above everyone else, the more stubborn and set in our ways we become. In fact, it doesn’t really even matter if we are really intelligent or not, if we think we are more intelligent than most, we become a god unto ourselves.

Mules and horses must be led with bit and bridle, or they are likely not to go the way their master wants them to go. Likewise, they wear blinders, because they tend to have wandering eyes… Where their eyes wander, there they will likely go, whether they should or not. I’ll ask you again, do you have the eyes of a mule?

Jesus said the lamp of the body  is the eye. If my eyes are focused on good and holy things, then my body will have to line up with that. This is why Paul said, ” Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things.” (Philippians 4:8 NKJV)

Brothers and sisters, what are you focusing on? Are you overcome and overwhelmed by your circumstances? Then look away from them and look to Jesus, the author and finisher of your faith. If we would just look to Him, not looking either right or left, but fixing our sight on Him, just as the dove fixes her sight on her beloved, we would find that even though circumstances may not change, we are changed…

As I look to Him, I find that I can deal with pain, rejection, and brokenness as long as He is with me. I am not alone as long as He is with me. Indeed, in His presence, there is fullness of joy. I am made whole in His presence…

I love Your presence, Lord and I will seek You with all of my heart! Thank You for awakening love in me… When You said, “Seek My face,” My heart said to You, “Your face, Lord, I will seek.” (Psalm 27:8 NKJV)

“The lamp of the body is the eye. If therefore your eye is good, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If therefore the light that is in you is darkness, how great is that darkness!” (Matthew 6:22-23 NLT) Lord, give me doves’ eyes. Let me not be distracted by my circumstances, or by the world and its circumstances. Lord, let me always keep focused on You, and let me not talk about You, but rather, let me talk to You, face to face… Let my eyes be good, so that my whole body is full of Your light.

© 2012
Cheryl A. Showers

Related articles

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

