Words of Jesus – … But I Say, If You Are Angry With Someone You Are Subject to Judgment…

http://life-with-aspergers.blogspot.com/2012/04/murder-is-murder-no-matter-how-you-look.html

“You have heard that the Law of Moses says, ‘Do not murder. If you commit murder, you are subject to judgment.’ But I say, if you are angry with someone, you are subject to judgment! If you call someone an idiot, you are in danger of being brought before the high council. And if you curse someone, you are in danger of the fires of hell” (Matthew 5:21-22 NLT).

Wow… Many people think they’ve never broken the 6th commandment, but Jesus makes it clear that when we’re angry with someone… if we call someone an idiot… or if we curse someone, we’ve killed them in our hearts and we’re in danger of the fires of hell. Imagine that! Could it be that some of us are in danger of the fires of hell? Could it be that the very people who seem to have it all together and have fooled the rest of us are actually murderers?

http://godspeaks-i-listen.com/tag/psalms-956/

O God, I’m not looking or pointing at anyone but me! You know my heart – it’s desperately wicked and it has led me astray so many times. Could it be that I, in my self-righteousness have murdered the very people You were calling? 

In my own bitterness, anger and pain, can it be that I’ve killed people along the way? My Lord, I know the answer to that question! In my heart, I’ve murdered many people. I’ve called them idiots.. The truth is, I’ve called them worse than idiots! 

Forgive me, Lord, for all of the people who I’ve condemned in my life. Forgive me for feeling justified in condemning them. Forgive me for not trusting You to avenge me, and for seeking my own form of revenge in the guise of “justice.”

O God, You said that if I confess my sins to You, that You will be faithful and just to forgive me and to cleanse me from all unrighteousness. Thank You Lord for loving me, a murderer at heart. Thank You for changing my heart of stone and giving me a heart of flesh! Thank You for Your mercy!

In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

© 2012
Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

