Words of Jesus – Blessed Are the Pure in Heart

70: Daily Inspirational Bible Verse
70: Daily Inspirational Bible Verse (Photo credit: [Share the Word])
“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God” (Matthew 5:8)

The cry of my heart for many years now has been, “Lord, please let me see Your face.” I think about that a lot. Can you imagine what it will be like to see His face one day? I imagine what it will be like to look into His eyes, to caress His cheek, to watch His lips move as He speaks to me.

Will I melt like wax? Or will I crumble at His feet? Will I laugh ecstatically, jump for joy and dance wildly before Him? Or will I weep and tremble at His beauty, so totally mesmerized by His face that my finite mind can’t even begin to imagine it?

I used to pray to see His face all the time, but one day He spoke these words to my heart, “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God” (Matthew 5:8). Now, I’ve read and studied His word many times over the years, and I’ve certainly read those words before, but this was different… You see, He was giving me the answer to my prayer. “Do you really want to see My face?” He was asking. “If so, your heart must be pure.”

Clean Hand
Clean Hand (Photo credit: nickstone333)

Who may ascend into the hill of the Lord? Or who may stand in His holy place? He who has clean hands and a pure heart, Who has not lifted up his soul to an idol, Nor sworn deceitfully (Psalm 24:3-4 NKJV). 

O God, how can I make my heart pure? How can I clean my hands? You know how desperately wicked the human heart is… how desperately wicked my heart is! How will I ever see Your face when I know full well how fickle my heart is? Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me (Psalm 51:10 NKJV). 

“Come now, let us argue this out,” says the LORD. “No matter how deep the stain of your sins, I can remove it. I can make you as clean as freshly fallen snow. Even if you are stained as red as crimson, I can make you as white as wool” (Isaiah 1:18 NLT). “If you will confess your sins to Me, I am faithful and just to forgive your sins and to cleanse you from all unrighteousness.”

“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God” (Matthew 5:8)

 Hallelujah! He makes it so clear to us – to me! I will see His face as long as I come to Him and allow Him to clean me up… I can only imagine what that day will be like!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_lrrq_opng&feature=relmfu

© 2012

Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

