Words of Jesus – Blessed Are the Meek

“Blessed are the meek, For they shall inherit the earth” (Matthew 5:5 NKJV)

Blessed are the meek… I don’t know about you, but my whole life I was taught to stand up for myself… don’t let anyone take advantage of your good nature… don’t be a doormat… I was taught that meekness was weakness. And then I met Jesus, and He rocked my world. He took everything that I believed to be true and turned it upside down!

He told me to turn the other cheek… if someone forces me to walk a mile, He said to go 2 miles with them… If someone steals my shirt, give him my coat too! What kind of logic is this anyway? If I do those things, won’t I be a doormat? Won’t I be inviting people to take advantage of me? Why not just wear a “Kick Me” sign on my back?

But as I look at Jesus and the life He led, I see no weakness in His meekness. Do you know Him? He is the One who set His face like flint as He rode into Jerusalem, knowing that He would be painfully tortured and crucified by the very crowds who surrounded Him within a week. Does that seem weak to you? He was the One who rode straight to the Temple, to face the scribes, Pharisees and Sadducees who hated Him and plotted against Him, overturning the tables of the money changers and driving them out with a whip, knowing He was provoking the very ones who would judge Him later that week. Was that a sign of weakness? I don’t think so. And how about when He spoke to the multitudes, including the scribes and Pharisees, saying, “Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites… (Matthew 23:14 NKJV)” Does that sound like a weak and fearful man?

Yet this same Jesus is the One who said, “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of heaven (Matthew 19:14 NKJV)”. He was the One who wept at Lazarus’ grave – then raised him from the dead! He was the One who could have called 12 legions of angels to deliver Him from the cross, but chose to endure the pain and the suffering for our sake! He was the One who stood bravely in the Garden of Gethsemane allowing Judas to kiss His cheek, knowing that His “friend,” whom He had loved was betraying Him. When Peter cut off the right ear of Malchus, the high priest’s slave, this same Jesus calmly picked the ear back up and replaced it, healing Malchus. And when the soldiers and guards stated they were there to arrest Jesus of Nazareth, He was the One who spoke, “I AM He,” whereby all of them drew back and fell to the ground, but still He allowed them to take Him, beat Him, mock Him and crucify Him.

It was in studying the life of my Lord and Savior that I came to the conclusion that meekness is not weakness! Rather, meekness is controlled strength.

Lord, please teach me to be meek, just as You were meek. “Blessed are the meek, For they shall inherit the earth” (Matthew 5:5 NKJV)

© 2012

Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

