Words of Jesus – Blessed Are Those Who Mourn

Blessed are those who mourn, For they shall be comforted (Matthew 5:4 NKJV).

Wow. Jesus cares about our pain. Oh I know many people think it’s just a cliche to hear someone say, “Jesus loves you.” But He does. He really does, and our pain is His pain. Imagine that. When I am at the end of my rope, when the pain is so bad that I can’t even breathe, when the lump in my throat has reached epic proportions, and it takes every ounce of my strength just to hold myself together, He is here with me, comforting me.

Throw all your anxieties upon Him, because He cares about you (1 Peter 5:7 CJB). Isn’t it wonderful to know that the King of glory, our Creator cares for us. In the midst of my weakness and pain, He cares.

Psalm 56:6 tells He keeps track of our sorrows and collects our tears. You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book. I say this often, but it’s good and it’s true, and it bears repeating… I can’t even remember every tear I’ve cried, or every sorrow that I’ve borne on my shoulders, but He does! He has recorded every single tear, every single hurt that I have suffered, and He even saved each one of my tears in a bottle, because He cares just that much. I wonder how big my bottle is? I wonder how big your bottle is?

Are you in pain right now? Have you cried out to the only God, the living God, who longs to comfort you? Or have you chosen to deal with it on your own, the best way you know how? The problem is that when we try to work our way through our pain without Him, we often end up hurting ourselves and others more than we or they were already hurting. It’s not that we mean to do this. It’s just a fact that hurting people hurt people.

If you are weary and burdened, if the pain and the grief are too much to bear, why don’t you call on Jesus and cast your cares on Him? After all, He was wounded for our transgressions; He was bruised for our iniquities. Surely He bore our sorrows, and by His stripes, we are healed. He wants to bless you with comfort.

Do you hear Him calling? He’s saying, “Come to Me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke fits perfectly, and the burden I give you is light” (Matthew 11:28-30 NLT). 

Blessed are those who mourn, For they shall be comforted (Matthew 5:4 NKJV). My prayer for each person who reads this message is that you will receive His comfort today, in Jesus’ name! God bless you!

© 2012

Cheryl A. Showers

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

