prayer

One of My Most “Spiritual” Moments

You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.
Daily Prompt: 1984

Isn’t it funny how the Lord works? I wrote this post in the wee hours of this morning, before the Daily Prompt was mailed, and in it, I talked about fear. Since the Lord set me free from fear (see the post below), as unbelievable as it might sound, I have no fear. Does that mean I never get scared? Yes, there are times when fear will creep in, but they’re usually short-lived. Anyway, please see the post below, which dealt with my fear once and for all!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What was your most spiritual moment?

This post is in response to the question above, raised by Tilda Swift, at Swift Expression.

I’ve had many spiritual moments since I began walking with the Lord, and the one that I’m about to share with you now is only one of many. How do you rate an encounter with God? Every encounter with the Almighty God, Creator of the universe, Father of Jesus Christ, His only begotten Son, through His Holy Spirit is powerful and exciting, as well as transforming.

Photo Courtesy Of:http://godisgood.info/2009/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/2009-10-prayer.jpg
Photo Courtesy Of:
http://godisgood.info/2009/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/2009-10-prayer.jpg

This encounter took place around sixteen or seventeen years ago. (I’ve had many other encounters since, but this is the one that the Lord placed on my heart to share with you) At the time, I was dealing with many issues from my past, and I was in a lot of pain. I was also held prisoner by a spirit of fear, that had enslaved me since childhood. I know this may sound crazy to some, but I’m sure others of you may be able to relate to this. I lived in fear of what might come in the mail.

From the time I was a child, I lived in fear of the mail. Do I sound like I was a little bit crazy to you? Perhaps I was, but teachers sometimes mailed letters to the parents of their students, and more often than not, those letters were not letters of praise, but of condemnation. I was not a model student, and so I lived in fear and dread of what might show up in the mail and get me in trouble.

Photo Courtesy Of:http://restministries.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/god-has-not-given-us-a-spirit-of-fear.jpg
Photo Courtesy Of:
http://restministries.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/god-has-not-given-us-a-spirit-of-fear.jpg

Therefore, I used to pray that my mother hadn’t come home for her lunch break at work and gotten the mail before I could check it and intercept it if need be. I had learned to forge my mother’s signature quite well, and if I got home and found a letter from one of my teachers, I would open it and sign it if necessary, to avoid beatings and punishment. I’m not proud of my actions, nor do I condone them, but I was a scared little girl, living in a constant state of fear and anxiety, and rather than risk getting a beating and facing the wrath of my parents, I chose to lie and cheat.

You see, I had a spirit of fear, and it had become a stronghold in my life from the time I was a child. And here’s the thing about spirits — the longer you carry a spirit, the stronger it gets, and the more powerless you are to overcome that spirit, and one spirit will also invite others to take up residence within you, which is what happened with me.

As the spirit of fear grew stronger in my life, I opened the door to the spirit of deception. I became a chronic liar. I told so many lies while I was growing up, to my parents, my teachers, the children at school and even myself, that the line between fact and fiction became blurred, because I lived in constant fear.

When I was around seventeen or eighteen years old, I began having panic attacks. I was even admitted to the psychiatric ward of a local hospital right before I turned nineteen. Of course, the psychiatrist who saw me at the time, was a quack, who told my parents that my problem was just immaturity. I knew that it wasn’t safe to confide my fears to him, and so whenever I had to meet with him, I would sit there in stony silence, while he stared at me, like a cold fish, notepad in hand, writing who knows what, until our hour was up. Then he would collect his money and send me on my way, while he reported what had transpired to my parents.

Photo Courtesy Of:http://quotespics.com/trust-in-the-lord-with-all-your-heart-bible-proverbs-35-2/
Photo Courtesy Of:
http://quotespics.com/trust-in-the-lord-with-all-your-heart-bible-proverbs-35-2/

Anyway, I got married two days before my twentieth birthday, and I figured once I left that fear-filled environment, I wouldn’t have to be afraid anymore. I was wrong. That spirit of fear had attached itself to me, and it wasn’t letting go. Even after having two children, and seeing that the man I was married to was a good man who loved me very much, I still lived in fear. At that time in our marriage, I was the one who took care of paying the bills that came each month.

I remember a time, when there wasn’t enough money in the accounts to pay a bill. I panicked. What was I going to do? I look back on this now, and I can see how irrational and foolish I was back then, but my life was spinning out of control, and I couldn’t see anything past my fears. Logic and reason tell me that I should have gone to my husband right away, the first time this happened, but I didn’t. Instead, I did something stupid. I hid the bill.

And each month, for many months, the bills kept coming, until we owed over $700. Now, more than sixteen years later, I can’t even remember what bill or bills caused me such anxiety. All I knew is that I loved my husband, and I didn’t want to lose his love. As crazy as it sounds, I was afraid that he would leave me, and I would be forced to return to my parents’ home to live, and I just couldn’t risk that happening.

Now, somewhere, in the midst of all of this, Jesus began to woo me with His love. I was drawn to Him, and I wanted to please Him. I wanted a chance to pray to Him, and worship Him alone, without any distractions from my husband or the children. So, one Saturday, I left the children at home with my husband, while I went to the church. I believe that was my first attempt at fasting, and I went upstairs to my Sunday School class, and sat there alone with God and my bible, and I began to pray.

Photo Courtesy Of:http://wallpaper4god.com/en/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/john14_18.jpg
Photo Courtesy Of:
http://wallpaper4god.com/en/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/john14_18.jpg

Then, in the midst of my prayer, I felt the Lord’s presence, and He spoke to my heart, reminding me of the $700 we owed, and urging me to tell my husband about it. I remember telling Him that I loved Him and I wanted to obey Him, but couldn’t I do something else for Him? Couldn’t I do anything else rather than confessing to my husband that I had been lying to him for months about the money we owed? Holy Spirit was very firm, as He urged me to confess to my husband. I remember crying, and telling the Lord that I really did love Him, but I just couldn’t tell my husband.

I felt the presence of the Lord so strongly, and yet I just couldn’t do what He was asking me to do. I was too weak. I was controlled by fear. I went home from that encounter with God, feeling severely depressed. I felt like a loser and a liar. I felt like I just wasn’t worthy of God’s love or anyone else’s love.

Two days later, on Monday morning, I had to take my husband to have an endoscopy. When I brought him home that day, he was feeling really nauseated, and I remember him laying his head on my lap while I sat on the sofa. A fierce wave of love for my husband washed over me as I sat there smoothing his hair, while he rested on my lap.

Suddenly, my husband’s eyes flew open, and he looked me straight in the eye and said, “I love you, Blondie.”

Guilt washed over me as I told him that I loved him too.

“No,” he said, “you don’t understand. I really, really love you Honey Doll.”

Now, I have to tell you, my husband doesn’t usually verbalize his love for me. It was totally out of character. He verbalizes now more than he used to, but back then, he usually only told me he loves me on special occasions, and then, he seemed embarrassed and awkward as he said it. He prefers to show me his love by doing things, but this day it was different.

He continued, “You’re the best wife any man could ever have.” Tears began to rain down my face, as I told him to stop it. “Why?” he asked. “It’s true. I’m really lucky to have you in my life. You’re always honest with me and –”

“No I’m not,” I wept. “I am a terrible wife. Please stop saying I’m good.”

“What’s wrong Honey Doll? I love you and you are a good wife.”

“No, I’ve messed up so bad,” I blurted out, as the tears were freely flowing, and fear kept trying to squeeze the life out of my heart. I was having difficulty breathing, as I confessed our $700 debt to him, fully expecting him to demand a divorce on the spot.

But he didn’t. Instead, he sat up and held me in his arms and proclaimed his love for me, telling me that we would work things out, and that I should never be afraid to talk to him or tell him anything.

And while he was speaking his words of love to me, I felt the presence of the Lord, and the Lord spoke these words into my heart…

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.” (Proverbs 3:5-6 NKJV)

I began to see just how much the Lord cares for me. He was showing me that if I will just obey Him, He will watch over me and take care of me. Then He spoke these words to my heart as well, loosing the chains of fear that had bound me for so long, and setting me free from fear, and for the first time that I could remember, I no longer had any fear.

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love.” (1 John 4:18 NKJV)

That was more than sixteen years ago, and my life has changed entirely. For several years after that, in order to ensure that I did not revert back to a life of fear, I would not retrieve the mail from the mailbox, lest I fall into temptation and open the door for fear to return, by hiding something. I also stopped taking care of the bills for a while, again, so that I would not open the door for fear to return to my life.

Perhaps, as you read this, you think that I’m loony. That’s okay, because fear makes a person loony, but the Spirit of the Lord gives us liberty. That day, I got a glimpse of God’s love for me, as He set me free from the spirits of fear and deception. That’s just one of my most “spiritual” moments.

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

17 thoughts on “One of My Most “Spiritual” Moments”

  1. Oh my goodness, right now I am in Doha, Qatar, and I literally just started to read your post and the prayer chanting started when they call people to the mosques to pray. I don’t believe that’s coincidence. I know it’s a different religion, but I have never heard it before I arrived here, and it is so hauntingly beautiful, it brings tears to my eyes. And now it’s in the background while I read your post and write this response … the call to prayer.

    I don’t think you are looney at all, but I know why you say that. I’ve had people call me all kinds of things when I am doing something to serve God (which is how I think of it). When I do something which is to help others and which is difficult, people often criticise or call you crazy. These days, depending on where you are, some people think you’re weird if you just *talk* about God. But I know that it’s not looney or weird and I will never stop. And frankly I’m not bothered with people’s opinion of me. In fact, I have said to quite a few people when they do insult or criticise me, “Please try to understand, the only opinion that I care about is that of God and my conscience. It’s nice if people think well of me, but if I must lose people’s respect or fondness for me to do what my conscience tells me is right and what God wants, then I will do it without a second thought.”

    You will understand that, no doubt, but plenty of people think that’s nuts. So be it. One day we will all face our maker and then He will decide everything. That’s what I keep in the front of my mind. One day we will all face His judgment. Things like popularity or “fitting in” pale into insignificance by comparison. This life is very short and I think Jesus said that we can choose to live for this life or the next. You will know that quote better than I.

    This is an amazing, honest, and beautiful post. I think a lot of people will understand that terrible fear of keeping a secret out of fear and yearning to just admit to it, but it’s so hard. Sometimes we can imagine all kinds of terrible things happening if we admit to it. I’m so glad that your lovely husband was so understanding, and I’m only sorry that you suffered so long with fear before you discovered his gentle reaction to your dreaded secret. Clearly he loves you as you deserve.

    Like

  2. What a beautiful story of His faithfulness and love .. transforming love! Thank you so so much for sharing like you do. You minister to us in a special way that He adores. Love you and God bless you!

    Like

  3. Thank you for opening your heart to share such a beautiful and touching personal testimony. I know that couldn’t have been easy – but I truly believe you’ve just opened the door for healing in many, many others. Thanks for giving through your living, -j

    Like

  4. I don’t think you’re a looney. This is a great example of the freedom we have in Christ and His perfect love for us. It’s crazy how something like a debt can be used by God to impart healing, restoration and freedom. God is so awesome! Thank you for sharing this story, I enjoyed seeing God work in your life :).
    Juan

    Like

Fan The Flames - Add Your Flaming Words And Thoughts

